BSC logo small
Photo Banner
  Encore marketing
Need to know




Skating Skills are a combination of fundamental skating movements, executed on a pattern and skated solo. The basic components of all disciplines of figure skating are incorporated into the program. The movements are derived from former compulsory figures, free skating and ice dancing. The objective of the Skating Skills program is mastery of the basic fundamentals of skating - edge quality, control, power and speed.

There are 6 Skating Skills tests in the STARSkate program. All Dances in the series must be completed before the Test is awarded:

  • Preliminary

    • Waltzing Three’s

    • Waltzing Mohawks

    • Preliminary Circles

  • Junior Bronze
    • Three’s and Power Mohawks

    • Power Circles I

    • Change 3’s

  • Senior Bronze
    • Forward Brackets

    • Power Circles II

    • Expanding Exercise

  • Junior Silver
    • Multi Turns and Power Threes

    • Snakes and Ladders II (revised)

    • Flying Choctaws

  • Senior Silver
    • Rockers and Choctaws

    • Multi-Circle Threes and Brackets

    • Expanding Exercise

  • Gold
    • Counters and Three Change Threes

    • Multi-Circle Double Threes and Mohawks

    • Expanding Exercise

What are the other StarSkate Tests?

Skating Skills

Free Skating

Ice Dance


Test Days

Return to StarSkate